Why I Chose to be an English Major

I can still hear the groan of disappointment when I told my grandfather I had decided to major in English.

My mother thought it was a great idea, but my grandfather, who is the more practical one in the family, looked like I had just announced that I was quitting college and planning to marry rich.

I think he had visions of me standing in welfare lines in my coffee shop uniform. Which would be okay, except I was paying HOW MUCH to get an education?

I wasn’t oblivious to the facts. I knew that if you majored in English, did not plan to teach, and had no real interest in pursuing even higher education, your options were severely limited.

So why did I insist of joining the ranks of the *gasp* liberal arts majors?

I’m so glad you asked.

  1. I love the English language. I love all the stupid rules and exceptions to the rules. I love the intricacies, and the double meanings, and the way it can be broken down to its simplest form and built back up into an astounding piece of literature that transcends time and technology and still remains relevant. Which brings me to my next point…
  2. I love literature. Ahhh….literature. One of the main reasons I wanted to be an English major was because I wanted an excuse to READ ALL THE BOOKS. I used to spend hours reading as a kid, and still find it as one of my favorite ways to challenge my thinking, extend my vocabulary, and simply escape the day-to-day humdrum that is life sometimes. I honestly don’t know how I would have made it through those horribly awkward teenage years if I didn’t have the opportunity to immerse myself in places where it didn’t matter if you were a part of the “in” crowd or not (I wasn’t…in case you hadn’t gathered that).
  3. I realized the value of an English major. No, you don’t come out with a set career path or a guaranteed steady income. In fact, I looked for almost two years for a decent paying job after I graduated. But even though I didn’t gain a specific skill set that matched a certain job requirement, I did gain skills that apply to almost any job requirement out there. Companies value good communication skills, problem solving skills, and comprehension skills, all of which I developed  while earning my degree.

So, I’m sorry, Poppa, that I didn’t go into the medical field. I know I’ve caused you more stress than you bargained for and made you have nightmares of supporting me while I did nothing but read books and scribble.

But, really, you don’t have to worry about me. I’ve gained so much more during this process, and even if I don’t make six figures and am still paying student loans when I’m 80, at least I’ll talk purty. 🙂

One thought on “Why I Chose to be an English Major

Leave a Reply

