2015 Reading Challenge

I thought when I graduated college that I would finally read all the books that had been sitting on my shelves gathering dust for four years. Since I would no longer be rushing to meet deadlines, write papers, and go to classes, I just knew I would have ample time to finally read for fun.

Here I am, over two years later, and I’ve read one book. One.

Grant it, it was the Russian beast that is Anna Karenina, but I still don’t want that to be the only reading I do for 2015.

Enter The 2015 Reading Challenge from Modern Mrs. Darcy (<–what my blog wants to be when it grows up).

2015 Reading Challenge Graphic

I love that it only has 12 books on it, which seems doable even with a busy schedule, and I love that it’s flexible enough that I can find a good fit for most of the categories without purchasing a book.

The first category is, “A book you’ve been meaning to read.”

Although I have several books I’ve been meaning to read, I decided to go with Green Mansions: A Romance of the Tropical Forest by W. H. Hudson. Mainly because I had already started reading it and needed to motivate myself to not take six years like I did reading Tolstoy.

Written in 1916, the book is about a man who flees his home country after attempting a revolution and finds himself living among the natives in Guyana, where he forms a relationship with a mysterious “bird girl”. (that’s all I know right now, I haven’t finished it yet!) 🙂

Why did I choose this book? I didn’t. Before my husband and I started dating, he asked me to feed his dog while he went out of town to visit family. He brought this book back for me as a gift because it was A) old and he knew I loved old books and B) it sounded like an interesting story.

At this point in his life, the only reading he did involved sports articles and Facebook updates, so it meant a lot to me (and still does) that he took the time to find something I might like.

So far, I love the language and the characters in this book. It’s simple enough to follow, but challenging enough to keep me engaged in the storyline.

My goal is to finish it by the end of the month. I’ll keep you posted on my progress!

What good books have you been reading lately? Have any of you read anything by W. H. Hudson?

~Red~

5 thoughts on “2015 Reading Challenge

  1. I like the format of this reading challenge. It doesn’t give too many specifics and I think most people can find something to fit each category. My favorite is probably “A book you should have read in high school.” I’ve never read The Great Gatsby (shocking for someone who just graduated with an English degree). But I have it, and I’m gonna read it.

      • Same here as far as the movie is concerned. I can’t believe it was never assigned to either of us! I literally had professors say “There are certain books everybody’s read by now, like The Great Gatsby” and I just sat there awkwardly thinking “Nope!”

  2. Pingback: TBT to That Time I Dropped a Class, and Drank Black Coffee, Because of a Boy | Western Sunrise on a Cloudy Day

Leave a Reply

