Monday Musings

Few things in life sneak up on me quite like Mondays. No matter if our weekend was jam-packed with activity or full of nothing but coffee drinking and Netflix (my favorite kind), Monday always comes before I’m ready for it.

This weekend was a perfect mixture of fun and relaxation. It started with dinner with friends at one of our favorite hibachi restaurants. I don’t care how old I am, I will never stop laughing at the onion volcano and the guy peeing on the fire. Gets to me Every. Single. Time. Afterward, we got coffee and browsed through Barnes and Noble. Hubs is in grad school working on his teaching degree, so I quickly lost him to the education section.

picture

#gradschoolwidow

Saturday, my mom, brother, and his wife came to our house to have lunch with us. My mom’s birthday is tomorrow, and she loves nothing better than hanging out with all four of her “kids”. Sometimes I think she likes the in laws better though….not sure how I feel about that.

I made chicken soup using some random ingredients I had on hand and baked these garlic cheddar biscuits, which fit the cold rainy day perfectly. Hubs said it was the best chicken soup he ever tasted. He loves me though, so I wouldn’t take his word for it.

Yesterday after church, we ran some errands before coming home for spaghetti and salad. After lunch, we sat around watching Hallmark movies on Youtube (because my mother is slightly completely obsessed) while Hubs did homework. We were in the mood for a snack later, so I made a simple fruit dip with cream cheese, brown sugar, and vanilla extract (full recipe here). My husband might have done a happy dance over this one and even ate all of the fruit instead of just eating the dip with a spoon. Small victories are still victories.

Picture

Served on my new dishes I got for my birthday! It doesn’t look pretty, but it tasted great!

Even though Monday snuck up on me, I’m actually really excited to start this new week. Today is my friend’s first day at her new job, which just happens to be at the same university where I work!  Here’s to a life filled with biffle lunches, google chats, and work picnics that double as biffle dates! Can’t wait!

What were some of your weekend highlights? I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

